Patreon: The Spam Effect

Kickstarter, Indiegogo, GoFundMe, and now Patreon. They all work very similar. If you like what you see, it’s easy to go fund it and get a reward. But is it really a reward? You’re basically paying for a product, so I don’t see it as a reward unless it’s free – but what’s free anymore?

FREE is when you don’t have to put down any dollar amount, right? I see signs in stores all the time. “Get THIS product FREE… but first you must purchase something else.” So how is that free when you know they jacked up the price to pay for it?

I once had a kickstarter page, still do. Apparently, you can’t delete the project after it’s over. I didn’t care much for it other than to see the progress of book 2 come to life. The thing I didn’t like was the spamming part.

Let’s say you have this great idea and need some money to fund it. You spend hours fixing up a small campaign page and then launch it. Now what? Well, NOW you have to spam people – anyone you know. Social media sights, email, etc. I really hate doing that to people because it clutters the page with “HEY I WANT YOUR MONEY” and that’s not really why I create artwork to begin with. It’d be nice. I do spend a lot of time doing the things I love, and it would be great to actually be paid for what I love. But I don’t want to be greedy about it.

So now I’ve started seeing all these artists using Patreon to fund their creative works. Most of them are going small. So… I figured, why not? I’ll just put one up with a quick intro. I’m not going to spam it because I’m going to do what I want anyways, but if for some reason people want to donate, they certainly can!

My Patreon Page

~ by wisdomnovels on November 8, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
